Getting to know me: Harry Potter Edition

I’m new to blogging, and I figured if you plan on reading this blog even a little bit, you might want to get to know me. Sure, I’ve got an About Me page and all of that, but I tried to keep my description on there short and sweet. But, there’s a lot more I could tell, and I figured there’s no better way to do it than by explaining myself in terms of Harry Potter.

So. Let’s begin.

I guess the first thing to know is that I’m a Slytherin. This was not something I always thought to be true.

slytherin

As a kid, I used to think I was a Ravenclaw. I was smart, and I liked school and reading, so I figured I had to be a Ravenclaw. Plus, I think I fell into that mindset that all Slytherins had to be evil, just because all the bad wizards were from that house.

A few years back though, I took the Pottermore quiz, and ended up getting sorted into the house of the snake, much to my surprise and also disappointment. I decided to look into it though: there had to be some reason I was put in Slytherin based on my answers to the sorting hat quiz. As it turns out, I actually do have a lot in common with Slytherins everywhere.

I’m smart, yes, but it’s not only Ravenclaws who are smart. Slytherins are known for being smart too, just in a different way: they’re more clever and resourceful, and their ambition can lead them to wanting to learn more too in order to become successful. I think that describes my intelligence more than the Ravenclaw definition. In addition, the whole idea of traditionalism and fraternity also describes me pretty well: I can be loyal to a fault, but usually only to my friends or people I’m close to, rather than an all-encompassing loyalty or friendliness, like a Hufflepuff would have. I overall just really identify with the values of the house — just not the whole Dark Magic part of it.

Next, let’s get on to some other things I identify with in the Wizarding World.

I would definitely not be a quidditch player if I lived in the HP universe. I am not athletic at all, and don’t think I’d do very well on a thin broom 600 feet in the air. I could maybe do quidditch commentary, but even then, I’ve got ridiculously huge glasses and horrible eyesight, and I think I’d struggle to see the players as they’re flying around. I’d probably be more of a Wizard’s Chess kind of person than an athlete.

quidditch.gif

I’m more of a cat person than an owl or a toad person, too. Toads are cool to look at, but not the most interesting pet, and you can’t cuddle with them when you’re alone at Hogwarts. An owl would be cool, but I think I would be a little freaked out by having one land on my arm or hang out with me. I’d maybe only get one for the practical purpose of sending mail. Cats are cool though — you can hang out with them and they’re a good companion.

I think I’d like Hogsmeade the best out of all Harry Potter related places. I used to think I was a city person, but I moved out to a small town about a year ago, and I’ve fallen in love with this lifestyle. I don’t think I could do the Diagon Alley thing, because it’s in the middle of London and would just be too crowded. Hogsmeade would be perfect though: it’s a tiny town with lots of shops and a nice little community. It reminds me a little of the town I live in now.

In terms of classes, I think I’d be most interested in Potions and Charms. Charms just seems like a useful subject, where you’d learn the spells you’re most likely to use on a day-to-day basis. With potions, I enjoy cooking, so I imagine I’d also enjoy brewing up concoctions in the potions lab (maybe not with Snape looking over my shoulder though).

Let’s talk characters I identify with. There’s 772 characters mentioned in all of the HP books, so there’s clearly a lot to choose from, but this is what I’ve narrowed it down to:

  • Hermione Granger: Don’t we all want to be like Hermione? She’s smart, she’s sweet, and she’s just a little bit of a badass. I like to think I’m little like her, just in the way she interacts with her friends, her devotion to studying, and even in some of her insecurities (but also in the way she deals with them).
  • Professor McGonagall: I don’t know that I can say I necessarily identify with McGonagall right now, but she is everything I hope to be as an old woman.
  • Neville Longbottom: Neville is shy and awkward and just trying to make friends. He’s likable though, and for all the ways he falls short of being popular or fitting the mold of who he thinks he should be, he finds his own niche. This is something I’ve strived to do over the years growing up. Plus, Neville can be a little forgetful sometimes, something I also identify with, as a I lack a lot of situational awareness.
  • Lily Potter: We don’t know much about Lily Potter or what she was actually like in school, but I admire her for her bravery and the sheer amount of love she had for her family.

Finally, I’d have to say I’m more of a chocolate frog kind of person than a Bertie Bott’s Every Flavor Beans. Why would I want to chance earwax flavor when I can be guaranteed to have a gooey, chocolate-y frog?

Anyway, that’s a bit about me in terms of Harry Potter related things. Look out for more posts over the next couple weeks to get to know me through other fandoms!

One thought on “Getting to know me: Harry Potter Edition

  1. Pingback: Getting to Know Me: Doctor Who Edition | Sherlocked in a Tardis with Ron

Comments are closed.