My Summer Reading List, a Work in Progress

I’m heading into my last two weeks of classes for the semester. After that, I’ll have a week of finals, and then I’ll be free, with over three months of summer break to squander away.

I actually hate the thought of going home for the summer, because home is boring in comparison to my little college town. And while I’ll have one, maybe two jobs to fill my time, I know I’m going to be bored all the hours of the day that I’m not at work, because that’s just how it always is. As such, I know I’ll be spending a lot of time with books (as I did over my ridiculously long winter break), and I’m starting to put together my list of TBR books for the 106 days I’ll have back in the big city.

Here’s what I’ve got on my list so far, and why I’m interested in reading them:

  • The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George
    • This is a book I picked up over winter break while at Target with some leftover birthday money. I had no idea what it was about, but the cover and cute little description had me intrigued. I brought it with me to school, but just haven’t had time to sit down with it over the course of the busy semester, and I’m looking forward to getting to spend some time with this book in the coming months
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
    • This is a book I actually started reading a few years back, during my freshman year in high school. I read about 300 pages of it before just…not finishing it for some reason. I remember loving the characters and the images of the circus Morgenstern’s writing painted in my mind, and I feel the need to finish it now.
  • My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman
    • I ordered this book off of Amazon at 3am after a night out, when I was so tired I didn’t know what I was doing. I don’t know exactly why I did this, or why I ordered this book in particular, but it showed up at my door a few days afterwards, and now I feel compelled to read it and justify spending the $11 I probably shouldn’t have spent on it. I know nothing more than what the plot synopsis has told me, but it sounds quirky and fun (and it’s on the NYT Bestseller’s List, so it has to be decent, right?), and the summary reminded me a little of this book called Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters that I loved as a kid. Even if it turns out to not be the same, here’s to hoping I love it just as much.

pariscircusgrandma

  • A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
    • So, let me just admit upfront, I love Ernest Hemingway. I could discuss how much I love him and how I began to love him so much for days (it’ll be a post in and of itself someday), but all you need to know right now is that I love him. However, A Farewell to Arms is one of his books I haven’t read, and I’m determined to get through it this summer. It’s apparently the novel version of A Very Short Story, which was a pretty high quality short story to me.
  • Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance
    • This book is out of my usual reading interests, but I’ve been inclined to read it for sometime now. I’m intimately familiar with the area that Vance describes in this memoir, as are many people I know who have read the book, and I’m so intrigued to see his description of growing up in that place. The book was also on the NYT’s Bestseller List and so many people I know have recommended it to me, I just have to read it.

farewellhillbilly

Anyway, that’s only 5 books that I have on my list so far, which is why I’m trying to decide on more! I’ve got tons of other ideas for books I can read, but haven’t narrowed any down yet to actually making the cut on my list, which I suppose is a secondary reason for the post: What’s on your summer reading list? What books would you recommend I read this summer? With 106 days of boredom and only 5 books right now (and perhaps a Harry Potter reread in the near future…but I’ll discuss that later), I’m definitely on the look-out for suggestions.

2 thoughts on “My Summer Reading List, a Work in Progress

  1. Pingback: The Harry Potter Plan | Sherlocked in a Tardis with Ron

  2. Pingback: Ranking Hemingway Short Stories | Sherlocked in a Tardis with Ron

Comments are closed.