My Mostly Complete TBR

As I continue to think about all the free time I’m going to have this summer, I continue to think about all the books I could possibly be reading, and for me, that means making lots of lists. Thus, I’ve been adding to my TBR quite a bit lately, but I’ve also been organizing it into categories, based on which books I most want to read. The goal is to narrow down my options so I have an easier time picking books out to read this summer (because there’s no way I can get through 70+ books in a couple months), but also to lessen my guilt if I happen to never pick up one of the books on my TBR. I think we’ve all been there before: there’s a book you keep saying you’re going to read, but then you never do, and you feel guilty about reading other books on your TBR, but never that one.

I figure by ranking the books on my TBR, I can alleviate the guilt of not reading a book if I make it clear to myself at the beginning that I might not get to it.

Without further ado, here’s a bunch of lists of books:

Books I Need to Read This Summer

  1. The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George
  2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  3. My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman
  4. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café by Fannie Flagg
  5. The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick
  6. Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney
  7. Inherent Vice by Thomas Pynchon

tomatoesinherent vice.jpg

Books I Would Like to Read This Summer

  1. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
  2. Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler
  3. The Mysterious Benedict Society Series by Trenton Lee Stewart
  4. The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry
  5. Applesauce Weather by Helen Frost
  6. A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
  7. Hillbilly Elegy by JD Vance
  8. If On A Winter’s Night A Traveler by Italo Calvino
  9. The Coast of Chicago by Stuart Dybek

casualchicago

Books I Want to Reread this Summer

  1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  2. Chasing Vermeer Trilogy by Blue Balliet
  3. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
  4. Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson

peterpan.jpghelp

Books I Want to Read at Some Point Soon

  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  2. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  3. Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  4. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
  5. The Family Fang by Kevin Wilson
  6. The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan
  7. A Field Guide to Getting Lost by Rebecca Solnit
  8. Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut
  9. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon
  10. The Te of Piglet by Benjamin Hoff
  11. The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff
  12. Needful Things by Stephen King
  13. The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman by Denis Thériault

slaughterhouse.jpgneedful

Books That I Might Never Get To, But Would Like To

  1. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  2. The Good Earth by Pearl Buck
  3. Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  4. The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
  5. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  6. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  7. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  8. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
  9. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
  10. The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss

earthpoisonwood

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are your thoughts? Is there anything I should add to these lists (or anything on one of these lists that I should move to a different list?)

