The “Your Favorite Music” Tag

I’ve never done a tag on my blog before, but I was tagged in one by Lia from Lost in a Story, so I decided to do it today! The tag was originally created by Debbie from Debbie’s Library.

The Rules

  • Tag the creator of this tag and the person who tagged you
  • Pick 5 (or more) songs that you just have to listen to whenever they are played
  • Pick the books/characters you think fit that song the best, and explain why you pick this book/character for this song
  • Tag some friends!

My Songs

Okay, so I feel like not all of my song picks match up perfectly with the books that I ended up choosing, but that’s because the nature of this tag required me to pick the songs before the books. If I had picked the books before the songs, I think it would have ended up quite different (which just means I might have to do a post like that in the future).

But without further ado, let’s start.

1. Barcelona by Ed Sheeran/The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

divide

This song is one of my favorites on Ed’s new album. It’s so hard to pick just one that I love the most, but I went with this one just because I can’t help but want to dance around my room and sing along to it when it comes on. I matched this song up with The Sun Also Rises because, even though they don’t go to Barcelona in that book, they’re still in Spain and I feel like the nature of the song matches really well with the relationship between Jake and Brett. The song might be a little more upbeat than the overall theme of that book, but every time I hear the song, I picture Jake and Brett dancing together in some Spanish bar while Barcelona plays.

2. House of Gold by Twenty One Pilots/The Weasley’s

vessel

Okay, I don’t know how Harry Potter somehow manages to make it into every single one of my posts, but it does. Anyway, House of Gold was the very first TOP song I ever heard, and pretty much my introduction to the band, way back during sophomore year of high school when my boss at the time played it non-stop for an entire afternoon. It’s not necessarily my favorite song of theirs, but I always listen to it when it comes on, because it’s so sweet, which is also why it reminds me of the Weasley’s. It’s a song I think Molly Weasley would enjoy, because it would remind her of her sons (including Harry), and I think her sons would agree with it too: they all clearly love Molly (how could you not?) and I’m positive that in her old age, even if Arthur had died, they would be taking care of her and making sure she feels as loved as she always made everyone else feel.

3. Wildest Dreams by Taylor Swift/Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

1989

I absolutely love this T. Swift song, and I think it’s my favorite on 1989, so naturally, I turn it all the way up when it comes on in the car. Now, whenever I hear it, I actually think of a Hemingway short story as well, The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber, mostly because the music video is set on an African safari, as that story is. However, that’s where the connection between that story and the song end, so I picked Eleanor and Park for this tag. Not all the lyrics fit perfectly with the book, but I like to imagine that years and years down the line after the end of that book, both Eleanor and Park look back on their relationship and remember each other fondly, even if it is only in their dreams.

4. Let’s Dance to Joy Division by The Wombats/Lincoln from Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

wombats

We’re throwing another Rowell book into this list, but that’s because I think this song (which is probably in my top 10 of all time favorite songs) fits perfectly with Lincoln’s character, for a few reasons. First, he would have been a teenager in 1990 when Love Will Tear Us Apart was originally released, so he may have actually liked that song. Two, I think he would have liked The Wombats, and this song in particular, if The Wombats had been around in the 90’s, at least based on Rowell’s description of his music taste. Third, this was a song that always used to cheer me up, even when I was at my lowest of lows (it’s just impossible to be sad when you’re jamming out to this). Lincoln seems a little depressed throughout much of Attachments, which makes me think he would have enjoyed listening to this, especially when he was upset about something in his love life.

5. Campus by Vampire Weekend/Henry David Thoreau

vampireweekend

So this one is a little weird, and I feel like no one else is going to think that this even makes sense, because it doesn’t. The very first time I saw the college I currently attend, I had just discovered Vampire Weekend as a band, and I spent the whole drive there listening to different songs by them. I particularly liked Campus, and it actually gave me this mental image of what I thought walking around and being in college would be like. Now, the first time I saw my college, the immediate thought I had upon seeing my campus was that it looked like what I imagined Walden Pond to look like when I read it, and I actually texted my best friend, a fellow book lover, that exact statement (Having lived at my college now, I don’t quite know why I thought it looked like Walden Pond…there’s a bunch of trees and some nature trails, but I don’t think it’s particularly Walden-esque anymore. Not that I’ve ever been to Walden Pond though, so I wouldn’t know). Either way, because of that association, I now think of Henry David Thoreau whenever I listen to Vampire Weekend.

Anyway, I had a ton of fun doing this tag, so thanks for tagging me, Lia! I don’t really know who to tag myself right now, so I guess if you’re reading this and interested in doing it, consider yourself tagged.

One thought on “The “Your Favorite Music” Tag

Comments are closed.