The Book Lover’s Tag

I was tagged to do the Book Lover’s Tag by Elfie1999 from Thoughts Explored the other day, so I thought I’d finally get around to it today. I figured it’s a good idea to let you all get to know me as a reader, since I do post an awful lot about reading and books on here.

Here’s the eleven questions and my answers.

tag

Do you have a specific place for reading?

No, not in particular. I most often read in my bed, or this cozy reading chair I have. However, I read in all sorts of places: libraries, my living room, outside classrooms, dining halls, coffee shops, other people’s houses…it really doesn’t matter as long as I’m sitting relatively comfortably and have a book with me.

Bookmarks, or random pieces of paper?

Random pieces of paper all the way on this one. Real, actual bookmarks just seem so clunky and unnecessarily big, so I’ve never been a huge fan. Plus, with the pretty ones, I don’t want to damage them, which often happens when I let the bookmark stick out of the top of the book. I like folded up post-it notes, old receipts (usually for the book I’m reading), or a ripped off corner of random paper better. I’ve used tissues (unused) and old hall passes before too. Lately though, I’ve been using something that actually resembles a bookmark: it’s a little card explaining what the herb bay leaf can be used for in recipes.

Can you just stop anywhere or must it be at the end of the chapter?

I don’t have to stop at the end of a chapter, but I prefer to, because it’s easy to go back to when I return. If that’s not possible, I try to find a natural break in the middle of a chapter: if an author puts those little stars in (***) I’ll stop there, or just find the ending of paragraph that seems to wrap up a particular thought.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Not usually, unless I’m reading the news, because I always read the news with breakfast. With books though, food tends to be distracting, and while I often make myself a cup of tea or coffee to drink while I read, I find that I usually end up drinking it before actually reading. I’ll sit with the book closed on my lap, drink the whole cup, and then start reading, so I’m not sure that actually counts as doing both at the same time.

Music or TV while reading?

Never TV, because that’s far too distracting. I occasionally listen to music if I’m in a crowded place and the background noise of where I am is distracting me, but even then, I only listen to instrumental songs or jazz or orchestral music. Anything with lyrics starts to distract me from the book.

One book at a time or several?

Always one. I wish I could read more at a time, but whenever I try, that’s how I end up abandoning books that I mean to finish and never coming back to them. I’ll get so caught up in one of the books, I spend all my time on it, that the other one or two fall by the wayside and I forget about them, even if I was enjoying them. It’s easier for me to just read one and then finish it before moving on.

Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

I’d say this depends. When I’m away at college, I usually prefer reading in a library or a coffee shop over my dorm room because I find it easier to focus, but when I’m at my house over summer/winter break, I prefer reading at home. My town’s library is a 15 minute drive away, so it’s a bit more hassle to get there than a 5 minute walk on campus (plus the hours suck. My college library is open 24 hours, so I can hang out there as late as I want, but the public library here closes around 8 on weekdays and 5 on weekends). When I’m in my hometown, there’s not many places I can go to read other than a library or coffee shop or my house, so I sort of prefer my house by default.

Read out loud or silently?

Definitely silently. I’m too self-conscious other people will hear me if I read out loud, plus it just feels strange if I’m in public or if my whole family is in my house or my roommate is in my dorm. Reading out loud is helpful for memorization though, so I’ve done it a few times with school books/Italian books when I was studying the language.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Never when reading for fun. I do it all the time with readings for school though.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I do my best to keep books looking new, but if and when the spine breaks, I try not to let it bother me. I just tell myself it makes the book look even more loved, even though they do look a lot nicer on my shelves when they’re all pristine.

Do you write in your books?

No. Again, I have for school before, but when I read for fun, I feel like I’m defacing them when I mark them up. If there’s a quote I want to remember, I write it down elsewhere.

Anyway, that’s it for this tag! I’m interested to know if I have similar reading habits to anyone else, so let me know in the comments!

