Harry Potter Plan Update #2

I’m crying. I don’t know why I’m crying, but I’m crying, because I’m just so happy Gryffindor won the House Cup at the end of Sorcerer’s Stone. Of course, I was expecting this,  I know this series like the back of my hand, but I’m just cheering for Neville right now for getting those extra 10 points for standing up to his friends and allowing Gryffindor to beat Slytherin, even if Slytherin is my house of choice.

If you can’t tell by this post yet, I finished Sorcerer’s Stone today, which means I’m making decent progress on my Harry Potter Plan. I’m going to be starting Chamber of Secrets as soon as I finish this post. Either way, I thought I’d update on some more of my thoughts, as I finished the first book. My thoughts are kind of random and all over the place, so I’m going to break this up into small sections.

platform934

Neville

Okay, I love Neville. I love him so much, not just for the whole winning-Gryffindor-the-House-Cup thing, but also for so many reasons that occur later on in the series too. However, as I was reading SS today, I couldn’t help but wonder if I would hate Neville for trying to stop Harry, Ron, and Hermione from leaving to go save the stone, had I not read the series before. I feel like that’s a point in the novel, when the Golden Trio is going off to save the stone, where you’re rooting for them and rooting against anything in their way. I can’t help but feel like if I didn’t have so many reasons to love Neville, whether or not I would have gotten to that part and been like “ugh, this stupid character, why are you even trying to stop them? Mind your own business.” It makes me sad to think of myself not liking him, because he’s wonderful.

The Unicorn

This is random, but at the part with the slain unicorn in the forbidden forest, Ronan the centaur says something like “always the innocent are the first victims” when talking to Hagrid. He meant that it’s always the innocent who are the first victims in a war, and if you think about it, the slain unicorn is the first death we see in the series, not counting Lily and James. At the very least, it’s the first death when Voldemort comes back. Unicorns are a symbol of innocence, so J.K. clearly knew what was up by making that a big deal and including that line. I don’t know why I’m point this out, but it’s the first time I’ve ever noticed that.

Rowling’s Writing

Rowling should write mysteries. I was thinking about the story construction of Sorcerer’s Stone, and it’s written a lot like a mystery, in terms of Harry and his friends trying to figure out what’s in the trapdoor/who’s after the stone/how to get to the stone. It’s even got a twist ending, when you realize it was Quirrell who was the bad guy the whole time, not Snape. The story development in Sorcerer’s Stone would be a great model for a mystery if Rowling ever got into that genre. If I ever heard she was writing one, I’d buy it right away (then again, I’d buy anything Rowling writes, but I’d be especially excited if she wrote a mystery because I think it would be particularly good).

Illustrations

I’m still blown away at Jim Kay’s illustrations in this book. The one where Quirrell unwrapped his turban and you saw a part of Voldemort’s face peeking out sent chills down my spine.

Dumbledore’s Protection of the Stone

Okay, I’ve seen people say this on Tumblr before, but after rereading the book, I have to say it’s true. Dumbledore really needed to step up his game in protecting the stone if three 11-year-olds could get to it. Like, a giant chess game? Some deadly plants that first-years had apparently discussed in class? A simple logic puzzle with potions? Of course, with all the different challenges combined, I’m sure it had to be difficult, but most of it wasn’t deadly (unless the Fluffy or the troll got to you, or you drank the poison in the potion room), just a lot of effort. Come on, Albus. You coulda done better.

Anyway, that’s it for now! I’ll be updating again after I make my way through Chamber of Secrets a little more!

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Plan Update #2

  1. Ahhhh I didn’t know you were rereading the series! And I didn’t notice that unicorn thing at first but yes, J.K Rowling is so clever. But what I thought was, maybe the protection system wasn’t trying to block EVERYONE, but rather only let the person who DESERVED the stone to be let in. So, Hermione? Because let’s face it SHE DID EVERYTHING.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’m rereading the series for the first time in 5 or 6 years, so this is really exciting for me! And that’s true, about the protection thing. Dumbledore did seem to know Harry was going to go after it, so maybe he made sure nothing would be impossible for Harry (like showing him how the mirror worked). He probably knew Harry would have Hermione’s help, so he just assumed everything else would work out too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

