The Personality Book Tag

I saw this tag on one of the book blogs I follow, Thrice Read, a week or two ago, and I thought it looked super cool. I wasn’t tagged in it, but, you know, this is my blog and I’ll do whatever I feel like here. I’ve never been super into psychology (and I’ve heard Myer-Briggs isn’t the most reliable/accurate thing ever), but I’ve always found MBTI personality tests to be really interesting, so I figured I’d do it.

If you are also interested in doing this tag or just want to know your personality type, you can take the MBTI test for free over at Sixteen Personalities.

Anyway, onto the tag!

What is your MBTI personality type?

I am an INTJ (more specifically, an INTJ-T), so that means I’ve got the Introverted, Intuitive, Thinking, and Judging traits, and am considered “The Architect.” Here are my specific results below.

intj

What is your personality like?

The first sentence of the Sixteen Personalities overview for INTJ’s is that they’re often called “bookworms” so that was a good way to start off, and I’d definitely agree. INTJ’s are also characterized as intelligent and confident in what they know (though sometimes overly-confident). They are incredibly rational, but are still somewhat idealists: they think anything is possible with enough effort and intelligence.

INTJ’s are very reserved and don’t do well with small talk or trivial conversation, so they have a hard time getting to know people, but can be quite talkative if they are talking to someone they respect or about a subject they are interested in/knowledgeable about. They are strategic and analytical, but also value truth, intelligence, and a desire to improve.

This seems a bit Slytherin-y to me, so I guess I’d have to agree.

If you were a character in a book, what would be some of your character strengths and flaws?

Strengths: Of the INTJ strengths listed on the Sixteen Personalities site, I’d agree that I’m imaginative, strategic, independent, hard-working, and open-minded, all of which would help me out if I were a book character. I’d be good at coming up with solutions to problems and thinking things through, while also working hard to get things done. I’d be the rational one in a group, keeping everyone else on track when tensions or emotions start running high.

Flaws: Of the weaknesses listed on the site, I’d agree that I can be arrogant, overly-analytical, clueless in romance, and have a hatred for highly-structured environments. As a book character, I know the romance thing would definitely be an issue (there is no way I could be the MC in a romance novel, or even a book with a romantic sub-plot. TBH I’m lucky to have found a boyfriend in real life), but I think the overly-analytical thing and possibly the arrogance could be an issue too. I’m not always arrogant, but in a specific situation where I overestimate myself, it could be my downfall in a novel, and the overly-analytical thing could prevent me from getting a task done when I really need to.

Do any authors share your personality type?

A quick Google search has informed me that Jane Austen, Isaac Asimov, and C.S. Lewis were all INTJ’s. Google also told me Tolkein was an INTJ, but I’ve heard him classified under other personality types so I’m not sure that’s 100% true. Either way, I love Jane Austen and C.S. Lewis, so that’s pretty cool that we all have this in common (I’ve never read any Asimov, though I’ve heard good things).

janeausten

What fictional characters share your personality type?

If we’re talking strictly literature, another quick Google search has informed me that Severus Snape is an INTJ, along with both Sherlock and Moriarty in the Arthur Conan Doyle books, and Gandalf in LotR. Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice is also an INTJ (which I guess makes sense because of the Jane Austen thing), along with Rhysand and Lucien from A Court of Thorns and Roses (I’ve never read that series so I have no idea who these characters are, but I know it’s a popular book so I thought I’d throw them in here).

If we’re talking non-literature characters, Batman is an INTJ, along with Michael Corleone from The Godfather movie (although I guess that’s also a book…), and Walter White from Breaking Bad.

I’m seeing a bit of a theme here in the types of characters that are portrayed as INTJ’s, and they seem to be characters who are both good and bad, or those who do bad things with good intentions–a sort of “the ends justify the means” thing. I’m not so sure it’s a good thing to be compared to them, because I don’t necessarily see myself like that, but at the very least, these characters are, in my opinion, some of the most complex/interesting to have been written about or portrayed on screen, so that’s kind of cool.

If you were a character in a book, what job would you have?

The Sixteen Personalities site says an INTJ personality would probably get along well in a job where they can work on their own and apply strategic thinking skills to different challenges. It recommended something like mechanical engineering, military or marketing strategy, or being a lawyer (three jobs I really don’t see myself having).

However, based on that, I suppose I could see myself being like a wizard or some sort of magical consultant in a fantasy novel. I’d be the person that the main characters are looking for early on in their quest to ask for guidance or for advice on their journey, and when they find me, I’d be able to whip them up some sort of potion or provide them with a detailed map of where they need to go, depending on what they needed from me. I’d probably be quite good at it, and also, it would just be cool to be a wizard.

What personality type would complete your OTP?

According to the Sixteen Personalities page, I’d do well in a romantic relationship with anyone who also shares my Intuition trait, but has a couple of opposite traits from me in other areas, in order to balance me out. The two personality types I’d be most compatible with are ENFP or ENTP.

Who are some fictional characters that would complete your OTP?

I was having a hard time picking one character that I think I would be compatible with, especially because most of my crushes on fictional characters are on guys I don’t actually think I’d be compatible with. Thus, I took to Google for this question and looked up ENFP and ENTP characters, because those were the personality types recommended to me. Some of the characters that were listed: Jem from To Kill a Mockingbird, Calvin from Calvin and Hobbes, Ron Weasley, Peter Pan (all ENFP’s), Fred and George Weasley, Sirius Black, and Holden Caulfield from Catcher in the Rye (all ENTP’s).

Out of all those characters, there are a few I would not ship myself with at all (like Holden or Jem), and some I don’t know enough about as adults to tell whether I’d get along well with them (like Calvin or Peter Pan). Thus, I’d have to say my OTP would be one of the Weasley boys. Probably George if I had to pick just one. I think he’d balance me out and make me a better person, but that we’d have enough in common to get along, and also, he’s pretty cute (both in the movies and in my head).

weasleytwins

Anyway, I had a ton of fun doing this tag! I spent far too much time analyzing myself and my answers to some of these questions, but I suppose that makes sense given my results.

Anyone is free to do this tag, but since I feel like I should tag some people, I tag Lia, Bella, and Rose (no pressure if you don’t want to do it though, it’s really up to you. I enjoy reading your blogs and thought you might like this tag).

What are your thoughts? Have you done and MBTI test before?

