Harry Potter Plan Update #4

As I explained the other day, I was absent from blogging for a lot of this week, but my Harry Potter rereadathon is still going on. I missed last Saturday’s and last Tuesday’s post, but I was still reading. At this point, I’m almost done with Prisoner of Azkaban, but I started writing this post earlier this week when I was 11 chapters into it. Thus my next few posts are going to be a bit behind where I actually am in my reading, though I’ll be writing the posts as I go along and just scheduling them for the future (I figured no one wants to read 5 days in a row of Harry Potter posts, so I’m going to keep going with the Tuesday/Saturday schedule). Anyway, let’s begin.

prisoner.jpg

Romione

I have always prided myself on being a Romione shipper. Ron and Hermione always seemed so good together when I was a kid, and it was adorable to me that these two best friends grew up to get married (I also liked that Hermione didn’t end up with Harry. I thought it was too cliché to have the main female character and the main male character end up together in the end). Upon rereading Prisoner of Azkaban though, I’m actually starting to question whether or not I like the Romione ship as much as I originally thought. This is the first book in the series where you start to see some tension between Ron and Hermione, and it’s that tension that continues on throughout the series and ultimately leads to them getting together in the end. While I used to think that was a good thing (“They’re not perfect together, so they have a real relationship! They have different personalities, but still love each other and make it work!”), I’m not so sure now.

Part of it, I think, is that I’ve grown up a bit since I last read the books, and have had some more experience with different life things, including relationships. In high school, I was friends with this guy I’d known forever. We were really close: we hung out all the time, told each other all sorts of personal things, were each other’s go-to dates for things when we had no one else to go with. And while there was a time or two when I considered him as something more than a friend, I kind of knew it wouldn’t work out: for as close as we were, he’d said some incredibly hurtful things to me before, or he’d mock my interests or quirks in my personality. They were things I could forgive as a friend, especially because some of the things he said, he said when we were really young, and it’s understandable that a 14-16 year old boy is going to say dumb, mean things sometimes without realizing it. But they were still hurtful, and some of the things were things I know I couldn’t get past if I were to ever be involved with him romantically, which is why it would never happen. I’ve noticed a lot of little things like that while reading Prisoner of Azkaban: Ron makes fun of Hermione’s work ethic and her classes, and is constantly berating her for liking Crookshanks, and she clearly gets upset by a lot of his comments. To me, a lot of these comments and Hermione’s reactions remind me of the friendship I had with this guy in high school; only while Romione ends up together, I know I could never date this guy because of the things he’s said. I guess I’ll have to continue to reevaluate whether or not I ship Ron and Hermione as I continue the series.

(And for what it’s worth, I’m not trashing Ron here either; I still love him as a character. He’s 13 in this book: yeah, he’s going to make sarcastic comments about his friends, especially his female friends. I’m just saying, it’s the kind of thing that doesn’t always make for a solid foundation for an adult relationship).

Snape

I have never been a fan of Snape, but I like him even less than I thought possible right now. Like, he was totally cool with poisoning Neville’s toad? Why do you want to traumatize the kid? Also, even if there was a decent explanation for that, what did the toad do to deserve being poisoned?

Another thing, I remember him asking the kids to study werewolves and all that from the movie, but I read that part recently, and he even asked them to write an essay about how to kill them????? Like, Snape wanted Lupin to come back from his leave of absence, when he’s totally drained of energy after the full moon and worried because he’s trying to hide this condition that puts him on the fringes of society, and read these essays about how to kill him? WHY? That is so awful and a new low. Sure, Snape doesn’t like Lupin, but no one deserves to be treated like that.

Sirius and Lupin

I don’t really have much to say about the two of them (at least, I don’t have much to say that is coherent and rational), so all I’ll say is that this book is making my heart hurt. I am having a lot of feelings about the Marauders and Sirius and Lupin and what they must have been like as kids at Hogwarts. I read that part where McGonagall and Hagrid and Fudge discuss Sirius in the Three Broomsticks, and I wanted to cry, just because of the fact that they all thought so badly of him, even though I understand why they do. And every interaction between Lupin and Harry…I keep thinking about an alternate universe where Remus is Harry’s favorite uncle and they hang out all the time because James and Lily always have Remus over for dinner and he just sits and talks with Harry about school and cool Defense Against the Dark Arts stuff that he’s learned. Just…ugh. I am sad.

Anyway, that will be all for today. PoA is probably my favorite book in the series, and I have lots more to say about it, but I’ll wait until my Tuesday post when I’m done with the book to explain the rest of my thoughts and feelings. For now, let me know what you think! Do you ship Ron and Hermione? Do you actually like Snape? Am I the only one who wants to marry Remus Lupin?

 

 

Leave a Reply

