A Few Quick Things About the 13th Doctor

First of all…yes, I am still alive. Life is hard. Things get busy. You stop blogging for a couple days and then that turns into a couple weeks and then that turns into almost a couple months. It happens. The important thing is that I *try* to not do that anymore. We’ll see how it goes. I’ve had a lot going on personally and I still do.

Anyway, there was an announcement a couple weeks ago about the 13th Doctor being selected for Doctor Who, which I’m sure everyone reading this already knows about. However, I thought I’d give my few cents on the topic because I’ve had some thoughts about it since it happened.

jodie

First things first:

DO NOT COMPLAIN TO ME ABOUT THE 13TH DOCTOR BEING A WOMAN. LITERALLY IN 50+ YEARS OF THE SHOW IT’S SURPRISING THAT THE DOCTOR REGENERATED INTO SOME VERSION OF A WHITE GUY (USUALLY AN OLD WHITE GUY) EVERY SINGLE TIIME.

For an alien being with two hearts that can regenerate into literally any form, it’s honestly surprising its taken this long for it to happen (well, it’s not surprising given the culture we live in, especially back in the 60’s/70’s/80’s, because back then I know it would have really been unheard of to have a female or person of color playing the character, but it’s surprising given the storyline of the show. In the show’s universe, we were overdo for a female Doctor a looooong time ago).

Now, that’s not to say you can’t be disappointed in Jodie Whittaker’s casting or have doubts about how she’ll play the role. There’s a part of me that’s still a bit disappointed the role didn’t go to Richard Ayoade of The IT Crowd, because I love that show and I think he would have been a phenomenal Doctor, probably a cross between David Tennant’s iteration and Matt Smith’s character. I also have never seen Whittaker act in anything before, so I can’t speak to her acting abilities (though I’m sure she’ll be great). However, being disappointed in the casting of a new Doctor or having doubts about how they’ll play the role is nothing new. Isn’t that something we do with every new Doctor? I cried when David Tennant left, and for the first few episodes of season 5, I spent half the time wanting to yell at the TV, like “Matt Smith isn’t the real Doctor! He’ll never be as good!” And then two or three episodes in, everything was fine and I loved Matt. Same thing happened with Peter Capaldi, and now he’s awesome. Even if the first few episodes with Jodie Whittaker seem strange or not as good as with past Doctors, I’m sure we’ll all warm up to her soon enough.

doctorwhologo

Finally, my last issue with Jodie Whittaker’s casting has nothing to do with Doctor Who as a show and is simply in how so many people have tried to make this political. Like, am I excited that we’ve finally broken down this barrier and that we can have female Doctors on the show in the future now? Of course I am. And it will be super awesome for little girls to finally have someone on the show that’s not a companion to look up to as well. BUT. I’ve seen so many people on Facebook and Twitter turning this into a huge political argument about feminism and sexism and gender roles and a whole ton of other things along those lines. The people that are against her casting just need to get over it and realize that feminism and powerful women are #awesome, and with the people who are for her casting….well, use it as a reason to talk about why feminism is great (like I just did), unless you’re Erica-who-I-went-to-high-school-with. Erica-who-I-went-to-high-school-with used to laugh at me for liking “such a nerdy show like Doctor Who” and yet Erica-who-I-went-to-high-school-with has posted like 6 times since the casting announcement praising Doctor Who for being such a great, forward-thinking show. Not that I’m salty or anything.

Anyway, that’s all for today, and hopefully I’ll continue on a more regular posting schedule. I’ve got a lot of books lined up for me to read soon, so I’ll be getting some book reviews posted as I finish those as well!

2 thoughts on “A Few Quick Things About the 13th Doctor

  1. I’m in a similar boat as you in that I haven’t seen Whittaker in anything before. Beyond that, I’m very optimistic about what the next season of Doctor Who be. Anyone who thinks the show is going to suck because the Doctor is a lady needs to get out of their parents’ basement (put on some sunscreen first) and join the rest of the world. I’m all for anyone, of any race/gender/species being the Doctor as long as they bring something good to the roll.

    Kris Marshall was in the running for a long time, which would have been funny to finally see the Doctor regen as a ginger, which he seems to have been fearing for some time.

    You mentioned Richard Ayoade, which is amazing, because if there was one actor I could have picked to be 13, it probably would have been him. Where you felt he would have been a cross of Tennant and Smith, I think he’d be Smith turned up to 11!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do see Ayoade more as Smith, but I was picturing him like Tennant because I’d imagine 10 going “Well…” in the way that he always would and then launching into some long explanation about aliens or timey-wimey stuff, and that reminded me a bit of something Moss on The IT Crowd would do, so I could see Ayoade pulling that off very well. Alas though, that’s not going to happen. I guess I’ll just hold out hope that he’ll be in the running for future regenerations of the Doctor.

      I did do some more research into Whittaker after writing this post, and she was apparently in an episode of Black Mirror once…I don’t remember the episode or who she might have played in it, but that’s an awesome show, so that’s given me some more hope that she’ll be an awesome Doctor.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

