Goodreads and Bookish Updates

I decided to immerse myself in reading a lot more than I have in the past year…summer has been a bit slow for me, just because of all the things I’ve had going on, and I’m sure it will be difficult to keep up a solid reading pace when I go back to school, but I’m going to be doing whatever I can to try.

I set my 2017 reading goal on Goodreads to 26 books, one for every two weeks of the year, and so far, I’ve only read 7. So about one a month. Clearly, I am behind. Thus, I’m going to up my reading pace for the last five months of the year, and try to read at least one book a week to meet my goal of 26 books.

I downloaded the Goodreads app about a week or so ago, and honestly, I’m starting to enjoy using it more and more. It’s so much fun to go on there and check out what’s happening and what new books I might be interested in reading next. It’s also been more motivation to read (my TBR is growing every day, so I’ve got extra incentive to keep up my reading pace to get to the next book on my TBR…even though I fear I’ve fallen into the pit of no return where my TBR will forever be getting longer and longer and I’ll never keep up).

I’ve been trying to find some friends on Goodreads, since seeing other people’s activity on the app has helped keep me engaged and motivated to keep reading, so if you have an account, please add me as a friend! You can do so here.

My goal in August is to read 4 books, not including the one I’m currently reading, The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill (of which there will be a review coming soon). I’m not quite sure what those books are going to be yet–possibly a new series, possibly Ready Player One and a couple other books I’ve had on my TBR, but I will see. Either way, Goodreads is where all those updates will be in real time, though I will be posting here, too!

